Media Center

Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen Awards Grants to Fund Services for Victims of Sexual Assault

Seven agencies awarded more than $200,000 in grant funds


MADISON — Attorney General J. B. Van Hollen and the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) -- Office of Crime Victim Services (OCVS) announced today the awarding of more than $200,000 in Sexual Assault Services Program (SASP) grants in 2014.  The grants to seven agencies fund services provided to victims of sexual assault throughout the state of Wisconsin.  A list of the agencies awarded grants is available here.


“SASP funds provide an opportunity to sustain or expand services provided by these agencies that are desperately needed,” Attorney General Van Hollen said.  “The basic services supported by these funds are essential to sexual assault victims as they move through the process of healing from this most serious crime. Those who work to make this possible are truly vital to our ability to support victims, and I’m pleased we’re able to support their work.”  


Enacted as part of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), SASP funds first became available to programs in 2009.  SASP is a state-administered, federally funded program intended to foster the growth and expansion of comprehensive sexual assault programs throughout the state.  OCVS receives an annual SASP award from the U.S. Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women.  The goal of the SASP grant program is to develop, expand, enhance, and/or support comprehensive sexual assault victim services so they are available to victims of sexual assault regardless of where victims reside in the state.  Funding supports programs to provide 24-hour crisis response, personal advocacy, information and referral, support groups, accessible services, and community outreach services.