Media Center

Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen Announces Concealed Carry License Number 200,000 Printed at the Department of Justice
 

Van Hollen also reminds applicants of reduced application fee.

 

MADISON — Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen is pleased to announce that employees of the Wisconsin Department of Justice issued concealed carry license number 200,000 on September 30, 2013.  All Wisconsin concealed carry licenses are printed in the secure processing area of the Risser Justice Center in downtown Madison.  Wisconsin Act 35, which implemented the state’s concealed carry program, took effect on November 1, 2011.

 

Attorney General Van Hollen also wishes to remind Wisconsin residents, who want to apply for a concealed carry license, that the application fee has been reduced to $40.  Applicants are asked to submit the proper amount with their application to avoid a delay in processing.  Applications with the incorrect payment enclosed will be returned to sender.  With enactment of the Permanent Rules regarding CCW and Act 20, the license application fee was reduced from an initial cost of $50 to the current cost of $40.

 

The Wisconsin Department of Justice continues to receive between 500 and 1,000 concealed carry license applications every week, and the dedicated staff is able to process the majority of these applications in less than a week.

 

“As Attorney General, I’m pleased we’re able to offer this public service to Wisconsin’s law-abiding citizens, and that we were able to reduce the cost and provide a rapid turnaround for those who wish to exercise their Second Amendment rights in this manner,” Attorney General Van Hollen said.

 

Wisconsin's Handgun Hotline, staffed by employees of the Crime Information Bureau of the DOJ's Division of Law Enforcement Services, has handled more than 107,000 calls so far this year.  A record 138,164 calls were handled in 2012.  At this same time last year, more than 97,000 calls had been taken by the Hotline.  All registered firearm dealers are required to call the Handgun Hotline before transferring a handgun.  (Note:  The DOJ does not have available statistics related to geographic area or gender of applicants either for the CCW program or the Handgun Hotline.)