Media Center

Joint State and Federal Drug Trafficking Investigation Leads to Indictment of Eighteen Individuals


The Wisconsin Department of Justice – Division of Criminal Investigation, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration and Internal Revenue Service partner in investigation.


MADISON — After months of investigation by the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) – Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) in cooperation with federal agents, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen has announced that on January 2, 2013, eighteen individuals were indicted on federal drug charges by U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Wisconsin James L. Santelle.


In January of 2011, the Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) began an investigation into a drug trafficking organization operating out of Milwaukee, suspected of distributing cocaine and/or heroin in Wisconsin and Illinois. The investigation involved suspects in California, Illinois, Mississippi and Wisconsin.


Those indicted include:

Ambrose Lamond Clayton Detric Howell

Chara M. Hortman Mary Hortman

Renee D. Snow Kevin Rodgers

Monica D. Edwards Dante Noel

Shawn A. Stanford Joyce Johnson

Tanesha R. Edwards Stacey D. Shaw

Beverly M. Hortman Bonnie Edwards

Rhona D. Fields Edward Harris

Shara Tyars

Kenneth L. Cox


For a list of charges, please see copies of the indictment and criminal complaint at the following links:





The Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) -- Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) investigated this case with assistance from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and Special Agents with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) – Criminal Investigation Division. Assistant United States Attorney Gail J. Hoffman will represent the federal government in this prosecution.


While each of the above individuals has been charged with criminal offenses, each is presumed innocent until proven guilty. The Government has the burden to prove their guilt for these offenses beyond a reasonable doubt.