Media Center

WI DOJ Conducts Training for New Police Chiefs and Sheriffs


MADISON – The Wisconsin Department of Justice recently completed a week long training seminar for Wisconsin’s newly elected police chiefs and sheriffs. Thirty-eight Wisconsin law enforcement chief executives attended this year’s program.


“Assisting local law enforcement is a constant theme in the Department’s work and my commitment to public safety and fighting crime,” said Wisconsin Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen. “We do best what we do together. Their commitment to learn and the Department’s determination to help is a good combination.”


Leadership, budgeting, recruitment and labor relations were among the topics covered.


Participants were also briefed on the state and federal resources that are available to assist local law enforcement agencies.


“I was pleased to spend some time during the week with each of these new law enforcement leaders as they prepare to not only fight crime but to lead,” said Van Hollen. “They have my commitment to be their partner as they do both.”


Police Chiefs and Sheriff’s participating in the training were:


Agency Name Title
Adams County Sheriff’s Office Sam Wollin Sheriff
Ashland County Sheriff’s Office Michael Brennan Sheriff
Baraboo Police Department Mark Schauf Police Chief
Bayfield County Sheriff’s Office Paul Susienka Sheriff
Birchwood Police Department Benjamin Kornbroke Police Chief
Black River Falls Police Dept. David Frederick Police Chief
Brown County Sheriff’s Office John Gossage Sheriff
Calumet County Sheriff’s Office Mark Ott Sheriff
Chippewa Falls Police Department Wendy Stelter Police Chief
Clark County Sheriff’s Office Gregory Herrick Sheriff
Columbus Police Department Daniel Meister Police Chief
Crawford County Sheriff’s Office Dale McCullick Sheriff
Darien Police Department Hunter Gilmore Police Chief
Fountain City Police Department Jason Mork Police Officer
Galesville Police Department Paul Evenson Police Chief
Green County Sheriff’s Office Jeffrey Skatrud Sheriff
Hayward Police Department Joel Clapero Police Chief
Lodi Police Department William Laughlin Police Chief
Lone Rock Police Department Pamela Fargen Police Chief
Luxemburg Police Department John Massart Police Chief
Marinette County Sheriff’s Office Jerome Sauve Sheriff
McFarland Police Department Craig Sherven Police Chief
Mentor Township Police Dept. Jason Frederick Police Chief
Monroe County Sheriff’s Office Peter Quirin Sheriff
Mukwonago Town Police Dept. Thomas Czarnecki Police Chief
Muscoda Police Department William Schramm Police Officer
Polk County Sheriff’s Office Peter Johnson Sheriff
Prairie du Chien Police Department Chad Abram Police Chief
Racine County Sheriff’s Office Christopher Schmaling Sheriff
Reedsburg Police Department Jo Ann Mignon Police Chief
St. Croix County Sheriff’s Office John Shilts Sheriff
Sauk County Sheriff’s Office Richard Meister Sheriff
Sawyer County Sheriff’s Office Mark Kelsey Sheriff
Sheboygan County Sheriff’s Office Todd Priebe Sheriff
Star Prarie Police Department Steven Lewis Police Chief
Vernon County Sheriff’s Office John Spears Sheriff
Vilas County Sheriff’s Office Frank Tomlanovich Sheriff
Winnebago County Sheriff’s Office John Matz Sheriff


A copy of the agenda for the training session is available at: