Media Center

WI DOJ Conducts Training for New Police Chiefs & Sheriffs


MADISON - The Wisconsin Department of Justice recently completed a week long training seminar for Wisconsin's newly elected police chiefs and sheriffs. Twenty-five Wisconsin law enforcement chief executives attended this year's program. 


"Assisting local law enforcement is a constant theme in the Department's work and my commitment to public safety and fighting crime," said Wisconsin Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen. "We do best what we do together. Their commitment to learn and the Department's determination to help is a good combination." 


Leadership, budgeting, recruitment and labor relations were among the topics covered. A copy of the agenda for the training session is available.


Participants were also briefed on the state and federal resources that are available to assist local law enforcement agencies. 


"I was pleased to spend some time during the week with each of these new law enforcement leaders as they prepare to not only fight crime but to lead," said Van Hollen. "They have my commitment to be their partner as they do both." 


Police Chiefs and Sheriff's participating in the training were:




Balsam Lake Police Department

Hanson, Jennifer A

Officer in Charge

Beloit Police Department

Jacobs, Norm C

Police Chief

Black Creek Police Department

James, Lowell B

Police Chief

Brooklyn Police Department

Barger, James F

Police Chief

Buffalo County Sheriff's Office

Severson, Colin K

Chief Deputy

City of Fox Lake Police

Rohr, James G

Police Chief

Dept of Veterans Affairs

Obong, Roberto V

Police Chief

Elmwood Police Department

Broehm, Matthew D

Police Chief

Everest Metro Police Department

Sparks, Wally L

Police Chief

Gillett Police Department

Pemrich, Gary T

Police Chief

Horicon Police Department

Bump, Adrian J

Acting Chief (Lt)

Lac Courte Oreilles Tribal Police

Gouge, Louis E

Police Chief

Lac du Flambeau Tribal Police

Brandenburg, Robert D

Police Chief

Lake Geneva Police Department

Reuss, Michael B

Assistant Chief

New Holstein Police Department

Reedy, Brian T

Police Chief

New London Police Department

Schlueter, Jeffrey A

Police Chief

Norwalk-Wilton Police Department

Johnson, Steve J

Police Chief

Price County Sheriff's Office

Schmidt, Brian S


Sawyer County Sheriff's Office

Kornbroke, Bridget E

Chief Deputy

Sheboygan Police Department

Domagalski, Christopher D

Police Chief

Spring Valley Police Department

Jaeger, Robby J

Acting Chief

Three Lakes Police Department

Lea, Scott E

Police Chief

University of Wisconsin (Platteville)

Marquardt, Scott E

Police Chief

University of Wisconsin (Superior)

Gulbrandson, Gary A

Director of Public Safety

Waukesha Police Department

Jack, Russell P

Police Chief