Media Center

Van Hollen Meets With Senate Scholars


MADISON - Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen met today with young leaders from around Wisconsin who are participating in week two of this year's Senate Scholar's Program.


"Today I am reminded, again, why protecting and encouraging our children and young adults is so important. I am inspired by their energy and interest, "Attorney General Van Hollen said.


Attorney General Van Hollen visited with the group and answered questions related to the Department of Justice's work and his personal experience in public service.


Van Hollen told the group, "You've been selected as leaders to experience, from the inside out, how our democracy and government works. I am pleased to have you visit the Department of Justice and learn about our important role in public safety and the law."


The Senate Scholars Program is a week long educational program offered through the Wisconsin State Senate. Only 33 students from around Wisconsin are picked for the highly competitive youth-leadership-in-government program. Senate Scholars gain experience in areas such as public policy development, the Wisconsin legislative process, constituent relations and have a chance to see how Wisconsin government works up close and personal by working with Senators, legislative staff and faculty of the University of Wisconsin.


Senate Scholars engage in a variety of activities throughout the week, including participating in mock legislative activities such as bill drafting, policy analysis and lobbying. A highlight of the week is lunch at Wisconsin's Executive Residence.


The students participating in the first session of the Senate Scholars Program are:


Senate Scholar           Hometown         
Kate Allen                    Walworth (attends Conserve School in Land O' Lakes)
Justin Bloesch               Cottage Grove
Nick Cornell                 Schofield
Hannah Demsien           Manitowoc
Melissa Ertl                  Park Falls
Gary Filipp                   Fitchburg
Meagan Hanson           Avoca
Tommy Julsrud             Eau Claire
Alex Kraft                    Colgate
Nate McBride              Peshtigo
Tiann Nelson-Luck       Greenfield 


Additional information on the Senate Scholar Program is available at