Media Center


MADISON - Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen announced today the appointment of a number of members of the Wisconsin Crime Victims Council.


The Wisconsin Crime Victims Council is a 15-member body that serves as an advisory body to the Attorney General. Council members are appointed by the Attorney General to three year terms. Of the fifteen members, ten are citizen appointees, two represent organizations that provide victim services, and one each represents law enforcement, district attorneys and the judiciary.


The Council also co-hosts with the Office of Crime Victims Services the annual crime victims' ceremony which is held in April during National Crime Victims Rights Week.


"I am so pleased these talented and civic minded citizens have agreed to serve on the Wisconsin Crime Victims Council," said Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen. "I look forward to their contributions and efforts on behalf of Wisconsin's crime victims."

Appointments announced today include:


Ave M. Bie, Madison: Ms. Bie is a partner in the law firm of Quarles & Brady. She is the former Chairwoman of the Public Service Commission (PSC) of Wisconsin and former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Corrections. Ms. Bie has a wide range of government and private sector experience.


Nicholas J. Brazeau, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids: Mr. Brazeau is a partner in the law firm of Brazeau, Wefel, Kryshak & Nettesheim. Mr. Brazeau's practice includes criminal law. He is an active member of the Wisconsin Rapids and mid-Wisconsin community.


Thomas J. Coaty, Green Bay: Mr. Coaty is an Assistant District Attorney in Brown County. In addition to his prosecutor responsibilities, Mr. Coaty is a lecturer on criminal justice matters.


Kurt D. Heuer, Wisconsin Rapids: Chief Heuer is the Chief of Police for Wisconsin Rapids and is the former Wood County Sheriff. He is actively involved in the Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association and Special Olympics Wisconsin.


Deborah H. Jordahl, Middleton: Ms. Jordahl is a strategist and consultant for a variety of non-profit and corporate organizations. In 1995 Ms. Jordahl was appointed to lead the Division of Administrative Services in the Department of Commerce where she was responsible for policy, budget, payroll, personnel, purchasing and information technology.


Dr. Margaret (Peggy) R. Kendrigan, Milwaukee: Dr. Kendrigan is an Assistant Regional Chief with the Wisconsin Department of Corrections/Community Corrections in Milwaukee County. She has a long distinguished history of working with Probation/Parole in Racine, Kenosha and Milwaukee counties. Peggy has received national recognition for her work with crime victims and survivors.


Jennifer L. Noyes, Madison: Ms. Noyes is a Researcher at the Institute for Research on Poverty; previously she was a senior fellow at the Madison office of the Hudson Institute's Welfare Policy Center. She has served in senior positions with the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development. As the administrator of the DWD's Division of Economic Support, she was responsible for the development and direction of Wisconsin's programs designed to assist and support low-income families in their efforts to achieve self-sufficiency, in particular the state's ground-breaking welfare replacement program, Wisconsin Works (W-2). She also worked for 11 years in the Wisconsin Legislative Audit Bureau, a nonpartisan legislative service agency charged with completing program evaluations and other audits of state and public agencies. Ms. Noyes holds a masters degree in Public Affairs from the University of Minnesota.


Mallory E. O'Brien, Ph. D. Milwaukee: Ms. O'Brien is currently the Project Manager for the Milwaukee Homicide Review Commission. The Milwaukee Homicide Review Commission (MHRC) is a multi-level, multi-disciplinary, and multi-agency homicide review process aimed at reducing the occurrence of homicides in Milwaukee. The MHRC creates an environment for many disciplines and agencies to share information and work collectively on violence prevention strategies.


Michael S. Rogowski, Madison: Mr. Rogowski directs the State Government Affairs practice group in the Madison office of Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek Government Affairs LLC. Mr. Rogowski is also an attorney. He has almost two decades of experience in government and regulatory affairs.


Anna M. Ruzinski, Menomonee Falls: Ms. Ruzinski is currently the Chief of Police in Menomonee Falls. She was appointed to this job after a long and impressive history in various positions in the Milwaukee Police Department. Chief Ruzinski is the chairperson of the 2008 FBI National Academy Associates Conference that convenes in Milwaukee in July.


Peter M. Tempelis, Jefferson County: Mr. Temples is an assistant district attorney in Jefferson County and a graduate of the University of Wisconsin Law School.


Geraldine H. Wuerslin, Waukesha: Mrs. Wuerslin is a retired victim services coordinator for Waukesha County and is an active volunteer on related quality of life issues.


The Council meets quarterly in Madison and meetings are open to the public. For further information about the Council or to forward suggestions for meetings or project topics, please visit the Department of Justice's website at