Media Center

Department of Justice Seeks to Commit Milton Taylor to Treatment

MADISON The Wisconsin Department of Justice filed a petition in the Rock County Circuit Court on July 17, 2008, alleging that Milton Taylor is a sexually violent person and should be committed for treatment pursuant to the states sexually violent person law, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen announced today.


At a hearing held on August 1, 2008, Rock County Circuit Court Judge Daniel T. Dillon found probable cause to believe Taylor met the criteria for commitment as a sexually violent person under Chapter 980 and should be held for trial. A status conference in the case is currently scheduled for September 15, 2008 and a jury trial will be scheduled later.


Under Wisconsins sexually violent person law, a person may be subject to a civil commitment when the person has been convicted of a sexually violent offense, has a mental disorder, and is dangerous to others because the mental disorder makes it likely he will commit further acts of sexual violence. A civil commitment is defined in Wisconsin law as commitment to the custody and care of the Department of Health Services for control, care and treatment until the person is no longer considered sexually violent.


According to the Department of Justices petition, in 2005, Taylor was convicted in Rock County of Second Degree Sexual Assault of a 12 year old boy. Taylor was also convicted in 2001 in Rock County of two counts of Fourth Degree Sexual Assault of a 14 year old boy. The petition argues that Taylor suffers from mental conditions that predispose him to engage in acts of sexual violence. The petition also alleges that Taylor is dangerous as his mental disorders make it likely that he will engage in future acts of sexual violence.


A petition is only an allegation. Taylor is presumed not to be a sexually violent person unless and until proven in judicial proceedings to be a sexually violent person. The state bears the burden of proof at trial.


Assistant Attorneys General David W. Maas and Rebecca Weise are representing the state.